Sharma’s ton in vain as Australia goes 1-0 in the series.

Australia opted to bat first on the flat deck and suffered an early loss when Finch was bowled by Buvi in the 3rd over. Carey and Khawaja took the total to 41 before Carey was caught off Sharma of Kuldeep Yadav for 24 in the 10th over. Khawaja and Marsh built the innings to 133 before Khawaja was dismissed for well managed 59. Marsh got his half-century too but was given lbw of Jadeja for 54. Handscomb and Stonis’ late surge took Australia to the respectable total of 288. Handscomb was dismissed for a brilliant 74. Stonis and Maxwell remained unbeaten for 47 and 11 respectively. Kuldeep got 54/2 and Buvi picked up 2 wickets for 66.


Indian innings off to a disastrous start when Dhawan was dismissed in the very first over by Behrendorff. Jane Richardson got the vital wicket of Kohli in the 4th over  Ambati Rayudu followed him too as he got out for a duck. Rohit Sharma and Dhoni built the innings after early losses and both added runs for the 4th wicket. Dhoni scored a slow fifty and was out lbw by Behrendorff. Karthik joined Sharma but undone for 12 by Richardson. Sharma brought up his fighting hundred and he managed to put on 133 but one else supported him. Jadeja and Yadav made 8 and 3 respectively as India could only manage 254/9 and ended up losing by 34 runs. Jane Richardson was named the man of the match for his 4 wickets haul. Australia leads the 3 match series by 1-0.

Subscribe to Blog360

Enter your email address to subscribe to Blog360 and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 202,089 other subscribers