Spirited India retains the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Team India had a dream run in Australia with both bat and the ball making them the first Asian side to win the test series in Australia. India’s terrific run in the series was led by Pujara; who scored 521 runs in 7 innings, Pant; who nailed 350 runs in 7 innings and the skipper Kohli; who made 282 runs in 7 innings. Bumrah’s express pace and bounce got him 21 wickets from 8 innings averaging only 17.
Australia missed the presence of their ex-captain Steve Smith and their star opening batsman David Warner but the losing captain is happy on the fight his young team has shown.
Captain Paine said “Disappointed, definitely over the last two Tests. We had our chances in Adelaide, in Perth, I thought we played some good cricket, but in Melbourne and Sydney, we’ve been outplayed. There have been some positives: some talent in this team, and it was good for our top six to play against potentially the world’s best bowling line-up”
Kohli, on the other hand, was ecstatic on his team’s performance. He labeled this win as ‘bigger’ than the World cup. Kohli further added “I’ve never been more proud of being part of a team, than this one right here. The culture we’ve built… our transition began right here, where I took over as captain, and I can’t believe that after four years we’ve won here. Just one word to say, ‘proud’, to lead this team and it’s an honor and privilege. The boys make the captain look good. By far, this is my biggest achievement.”

Here’s the review of all four tests of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

First Test was played at Adelaide and it was a nerve-jangling contest. India being put in to bat in the First innings scored 250 only. Pujara scored 123(246) while Hazelwood got 52/3. In reply to India’s first innings total. Australia only managed 235 on the board with Travis Head scoring 72(167). Bumrah and Ashwin shared 3 wickets apiece. With the lead of 15, India further adds 307 on the board. Pujara once again scored a fighting 71(204) leaving Australia to chase 322 for victory. Hosts only managed to get 291. Shami and Bumrah got 3 wickets and Shaun Marsh scored 60(166). India won the thrilling first test by 31 runs. Pujara was named the man of the match.

Second Test of the series took place at Perth. And Australia with batting first put on 326 runs on the board with Harris scoring 70(141). Ishant Sharma took 4/41. India in reply couldn’t equal Australia’s first innings total and was bundled out for 283 only. Kohli scored his first hundred of the tour with 123(257) Lyon picked up 67/5. Australia scored 243 in the second innings with Khawaja leading the chart with 72(213) leaving India to score 286 for victory. Rahane and Pant scored 30 each but India could only manage 140 and Australia announced a comeback in the series with a comfortable 146 runs victory.
Lyon’s 8 wickets in the match earned him the Man of the match award.

Boxing Day test was played in Melbourne with series level at 1-1 each and India batting first in the game piled up 443/7 with Pujara’s magnificent 106(319) and Kohli’s 82(204). Cummins picked up 3/72. Australia in reply was clueless to some outstanding bowling of Bumrah. They scored only 151 with Paine scoring 22(85). Bumrah got 6/33. India declared at 106/8 in the second innings, leaving Australia to chase an unlikely 399 for victory. Shaun Marsh scored 44(72) and Cummins got 63(114) but Australia were bowled out for 261 handing India a
good 137 runs victory and with this victory. India retained the Border Gavasker trophy. Bumrah was named the man of the match for his superb 9 wicket haul in the game.

Final Test of the series was played at Sydney. India batting first on a flat deck piled up 600/7 on the board. Pujara once again step up to the mark with 193 runs innings and Pant scored an unbeaten 159. Lyon got 4-178. In reply to India’s first innings total, Australia only managed 300 with Harris scoring 79. Kuldeep Yadav got his first 5-fer in Australia with 5-99. India sent Australia to bat again enforcing the follow-on but the persistent rain results the test match to draw and this results in India retaining the Border-Gavaskar trophy  2-1. Pujara was named man of the match and man of the series for his outstanding 521 runs at an average of 74 with three tons

Subscribe to Blog360

Enter your email address to subscribe to Blog360 and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 202,089 other subscribers