Pakistan survive Maxwell’s onslaught, wins 10th straight T20I series


It is again the same story Pakistan wins another Twenty20 International series, 10th straight series, which is a world record now, under the captaincy of Sarfraz Ahmed Pakistan achieved this amazing landmark in the Twenty20 cricket. Once again Australian top order was unable to perform against some quality bowling during power play, but thanks to Maxwell late onslaught which gave some tough time to Pakistani bowling which narrowed the victory margin for Pakistan from 66 to 11 runs, rest of the batting line raised too many questions for Australian think-tank. Earlier Babar and Hafeez gave Pakistan a solid foundation for the second time in the series.

Pakistan won the toss in the second game and decided to bat first with one change; they included the experienced middle-order Shoaib Malik in place of Hussain Talat. Australia also did one change Agar had to sit on the bench while Mitch Marsh was picked to replace him. Pakistani openers (especially Babar) once again gave them brisk start, in fourth over Fakhar Zaman loses his wicket in the consecutive game; he wasn’t middling the ball well and could only 11. Babar joined by Hafeez and they both put 70 runs partnership to provide Pakistan a solid platform to go hard in the later part of the innings, but Pakistan couldn’t capitalize and finished their innings at 147. Babar Azam missed out to hit his fourth consecutive 50 plus score in T20 Internationals by just 5 runs. In the last game it was Hasan Ali who scored some quick runs and tonight faheem Ashraf step up and did the same for Pakistan, he made 17 off 10 with one four and one six out of the park.

Once again Australian batting at the start wasn’t looked confortable at all against Imad Wasim and Faheem Ashraf, Finch, D’ Arcy Short & Lynn loses their wickets very cheaply left Australia 31 for 3 in the 7 over of the run chase. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals apart from Maxwell and Coulter-Nile partnership they never looked threatening. At one moment in the game Australia returned in the game very much when they need only 33 runs in the last two overs and 23 in the final over, both Maxwell and Coulter-Nile was hitting the ball out of the park on every next ball. Sarfaraz Ahmed turned to the young Shaheen to defend 23 runs in

the final over, on the first ball Coulter-Nile hit gigantic SIX over the Long On and turned the equation in the favor of Australia. But on the third ball the final over Maxwell skied up in the air and catch was taken by Malik, which ended the hopes of Australian fans (Maxwell was dropped twice in the game by Imad and Hafeez). On the fifth ball of same over Shaheen got the wicket of Coulter-Nile and finished the job for Pakistan in style, with this Pakistan won the game by 11 runs. Here I need to mention the bowling spell of Imad Wasim who finished his spell of four over with 8 for 1, which is now the fifth economical bowling spell by any Pakistani bowler.

Player of the Match: On his brilliant bowling upfront Imad Wasim once again was awarded as a player of the Match.

Imad Wasim: “I have been doing it for a while. I have been bowling in the power plays. It was different to the last game. I tried bowling wicket-to-wicket. I have been working hard. You have to see the situation and bowl accordingly. I knew they won’t go after me. I see what the batsmen are trying to do and accordingly make my plans.”

Smart Scorecard:

Pakistan 147 for 6 in 20.0 overs (Babar Azam 45, Muhammad Hafeez 40; Nathan Coulter-Nile 3/18, Billy Stanlake 36/2)

Australia 136/8 in 20.0 overs (Glenn Maxwell 52, Nathan Coulter-Nile 27; Shadab Khan 30/2, Shaheen Shah Afridi 35/2, Imad Wasim 8/1)

Next Encounter: Third T20 International match at Dubai on 28th October 2018.

If you are crazy for sports and have Passion to cover sports, this is your chance to become part of fastest growing Digital Sports Company in Pakistan Contact us on teamdigital@sportsfever360.com

Subscribe to Blog360

Enter your email address to subscribe to Blog360 and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 203,419 other subscribers